Blueberryblues

Musings of a self-taught crafter

New Traditions December 24, 2009

Filed under: 2009,Finished Objects,Sewing — blueberryblues @ 2:55 pm

I love decorating for the holidays.  I have my favorite decorations that I look forward to uncovering out each year – the cross stitch santas, handmade paper holiday cards too pretty to throw out that I’ve framed, special ornaments, the crocheted Christmas tree angel.  To me, these items bring up fond memories of family members and celebrations gone by and these items are now like old friends whom I get excited to see even before we open the storage crate.

L’s first birthday is just a few short weeks before Christmas.  As we prepared for her FIRST birthday party (YEAH!  She’s ONE!), I wanted to create a special decoration that could be pulled out and displayed year-after-year.  I’ve loved the birthday buntings that I’ve seen on Etsy and around the web and decided to create one of my own.

DSC_0004

I purchased a Fabric Central Refresh fabric bundle on a whim awhile ago.  I fell in love with the nature prints (leaves, flowers, butterflies) and the color palette of soft blues, greens, and browns.  The colors are a little mature for a first birthday, but I think that its quiet sophistication will help it “age” over time.

DSC_0011

I cut the letters out of white fabric that I had in my stash.  I ironed on paper backed fusible web and then traced letters which I printed out to use them as a stencil.  I ironed on and sewed around each letter on the front half of the bunting before sewing together the front and backs together.  The finished size is about 4.5″ x 5″.  I finished the banner by sewing each letter on cotton bias tape 1′ apart.

I’m really happy with the finished product.  It hung in our living room for a whole week before L’s party and I became more excited to celebrate the milestone birthday each time I passed it.  I’m excited to have this project completed and in our stash of decorations.  I know that when we pull this out each year that I will fondly remember L’s first birthday and be amazed at how she’s changed.

Happy 1rst Birthday, L!

 

Leave a Reply

