Blueberryblues

Musings of a self-taught crafter

Quick and Easy Baby Booties April 7, 2009

Filed under: 2009,Finished Objects,Knitting — blueberryblues @ 11:19 am

Daughters of two women in my office were recently expecting grandsons and I thought they might enjoy a little gift, especially since they were both so generous to me when I was expecting Lauren.   I cannot express how much I DESPISE baby socks – they just won’t stay on.  My mom knit Lauren a set of baby booties out of great superwash wool sock yarn that fit her perfectly when she was born and they miraculously did not fall off no matter how hard she kicked.  They were sanity savers for a new mom of a winter baby.  

DSC_0030 Pattern:  Boy’s and Girl’s Booties from Natural Knits for Babies and Moms

Yarn:  Lily Sugar ‘n Cream, a worsted weight cotton, in Cool Breeze Ombre

Size: 0-3 months

I chose this pattern simply because I had this worsted weight yarn in my stash.   I had enough yarn to knit both sets out of one skein. These booties are knit on two needles, the instructions are clear ,and they are an easy and quick knit – in fact, each pair took me two evenings to knit and sew up the seems.  However, they just do not have the same visual appeal as the ones my mom knit.  They do seem big for a 0-3 month old baby – these fit my 4 month old who has long and narrow feet.  But, I do believe they will work for their intended kick-proof purpose.  I think baby booties may become my new essential baby shower gift, but I think in the future I will try out the pattern that my mom used.

 

Leave a Reply

