Blueberryblues

Musings of a self-taught crafter

Nottingham Hat March 24, 2009

Filed under: 2009,Finished Objects,Knitting — blueberryblues @ 3:48 pm

Proof that I can knit something in less than a week.  Since I had inadvertently knit myself a new hat, I still owed my husband a new hat.  I managed to knit this hat without him knowing and have it done in time for his birthday.

DSC_0005 (2) Pattern: Nottingham

Yarn: Green Mountain Spinnery Mountain Mohair, colorway Claret (a nice mix of various wine colors and black)

Size:Adult (23″ head circumference)

The hat pattern is pretty gender neutral.  It does have a lot of stretch to it (perfect for my husband’s huge noggin) .  I decided to stick to the same yarn that I used for my Claudia hat since I’ve been completely happy with the feel and wear of my hat.  It is a bit rough when you work with it, but it definitely softens after a soaking – a necessity for an article of clothing worn against the skin.  There is nothing worse than an itchy forehead when confronted with lots of shovelling to do!

 

Leave a Reply

