Blueberryblues

Musings of a self-taught crafter

Showered with Homemade Items November 2, 2008

Filed under: General — blueberryblues @ 10:01 am

Last weekend, my family and friends gathered at my baby shower.  The celebration was wonderful, the food delicious, and the decorations very baby appropriate.  I was so excited to see everyone who came, from near and far, but wish that I had had more time to talk to each attendee.  I was particularly impressed by the creative, hand made decorations and gifts – our family and friends are quite the creative bunch – so, I thought I might share a few of the handmade items.

Decorations – My mother-in-law went out of her way creating fun, yet functional, decorations for the shower.  She put together a diaper cake unlike any I have ever seen.  Besides the requisite diapers, she used receiving blankets, a bottle, pacifiers, teethers, spoons, toys, and other little baby items to decorate the cake.  The result was a very impressive centerpiece that I can’t quite bring myself to tear apart now that it’s at our house.  In addition, she created a “bootie-ful” bouquet, tucking socks and booties in among a flower centerpiece.

The Handmade Gifts– tucked amongst the generous deluge of gifts of all sort were some very impressive handmade items.  My Mom put her painting skills to good use and painted a little bunny for the nursery wall.  She also employed her quilting skills to create a blanket for the baby.  My mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law teamed up to create some burp cloths by sewing decorative ribbon on cloth diapers.  My friend Maria surprised me with the scraps from a quilt that she’s working on.  I’m excited to see what she’s come up with and I know it will be a beautiful keepsake.  There were also few hand knit gifts – a hoodie sweater knitted by Maria’s mom and the baby’s Christmas stocking made by my grandmother-in-law.  The stocking is large enough for the baby to fit into and I think Santa might go broke trying to fill it!  Finally, there was a kid-sized Adirondack chair, designed and made by our friend Pete and color picked out by Sheila.  The chair will be a great addition to the two chairs made by my uncle for us for our wedding and I can’t wait the baby and her friends can use it next summer.

                     

We were overwhelmed by everyone’s generosity and have been excitedly putting the nursery together ever since.  It’s definitely nice to see the room evolve from the office to the nursery and we definitely feel more prepared for the baby now than we did a few weeks ago, despite the kitchen still being in its reconstruction phase.

 

Leave a Reply

