Blueberryblues

Musings of a self-taught crafter

Do I Have the Heart of a Ravelete? February 10, 2010

Filed under: 2010,Olympic Knitting — blueberryblues @ 10:30 am

As the Winter 2010 Olympics approach, I find myself in a bit of a quandary.  Do I take part in the 2010 Ravelympics or not?  I jumped into participating in the 2008 Ravelympics without much thought or fear.  This time is different.  We are doing work on our house and we have a 1-year-old.  Time is not on my side for starting and completing a new project on a deadline.  There is one project that I want to work on and finish.  I want to clear it out of my knitting bag and put it behind me.  It’s the gift that my husband will hold over my head until it is complete.   But finishing that project is not in the cards – it would demand too much time and attention to finish it and finish it well.   But there is a certain little friend whose second birthday is fast approaching and I think she might enjoy a little handmade gift set.

The question is, does it fit “the rules”?

“The One Rule To Rule Them All: Challenge yourself by starting and finishing projects during the 2010 Winter Olympics” (Quoted from the official Ravelry page, the emphasis is mine). The little gift I’m considering is small and definitely achievable, but is it a challenge?  Well, it is crochet and involves multiple colors, both of which are not my forte. I have to admit it is not the most challenging project I’ve ever made, but after my wonderful experience last time not participating seems, well, wrong.

But, in consideration to my time constraints, what if I do not finish?  Is it better to have tried and failed than not to try at all? I will admit that having my project remain incomplete at the end of the games would be a disappointment.  Then again, a half crocheted gift set is 50% closer to finished than in its current state. I think an Olympic athlete would answer this question in a heartbeat with a strong affirmative.  Not all Olympic athletes come home with a medal and I may just be one of those Raveletes.

My decision:  I’m in.  I plan on crocheting 6 Quick Cupcakes during these Winter 2010 Olympic Games.  Oh, and (most importantly) finishing the work on the house.

Are you going to compete?

Citius, Altius, Fortius

Swifter, Higher, Stronger

 

One Response to “Do I Have the Heart of a Ravelete?”

  1. cath Says:

    Hooray! Good for you!
    As for me, I’ve already got too many (real and self imposed) deadlines, and a somewhat unpredictable drop dead date (so to speak) so I will be sitting out this time.
    Last time I worked on my first lace shawl–I did not complete it in the time frame–but I got a great start, and learned a lot–and I do still remember the Olympics when I see the shawl.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.